I have so many favorite kitchen tools! I love tools that are 1. easy to use 2. make a process faster and 3 easy to clean. If its not all three I rarely use it. That said, these meet all those requirements.
Garlic press

This one is Pampered Chef. They make excellent products, they are durable and most of them are dishwasher safe. This is dishwasher safe (meeting my third requirement). How you use it is you take apart the head of garlic and put the whole clove in the press. You do not have to take the skin off the clove! (meeting my first requirement) It basically minces the garlic by just squeezing it. (meeting my third requirement) If you cook with garlic you need one of these! Fresh garlic is always a better option and this makes it much easier to use fresh!
Potato Masher
I didn't think I would use this much but I find myself using it often. I use it obviously for mashed potatoes, the banana pancakes I make, potato soup, and I've even used it as a pastry cutter a couple of times. Buy a sturdy one that is dishwasher safe. This one is Chef Mate.
Spatula/ Scraper
I know its silly but I like spatulas that are shaped like this. I think they are easier to use. The two white ones are Pampered chef and are fantastic. My mom still has her that I used to use when I started cooking, they have to be 15 years old!
Thermometers
I have enjoyed my thermometers. The one on the left is a candy thermometer. I don't make candy often but I use it for things like yogurt, chocolate or other liquids that I need to be a specific temperature. The thermometer on the right is a meat thermometer. You insert it into meat to ensure it is cooked all the way. I like it especially for baked chicken.
Silicone Basting Brush
I did not think I would like the silicone brush, something about it grossed me out but I completely swallow any bad things I have ever said about it! It comes completely clean in the dishwasher, unlike bristle brushes. One thing that I love using it for is to butter a surface. I do not like to use anything arousal on my food so it makes it had to butter things especially muffin tins! I use the basting brush to spread soft butter on my pan! Super easy!
Can Opener
This is another great Pampered Chef product! This is easy on your wrist, safe for kids to use and does not have a huge, germ infested blade that you put into you can of food. It basically de-glues the can and you take the whole top of the can off. There are no sharp edges, there is no dirty, dusty can top dropping into your food! I love this thing!
Whisks
Whisks are kind of a requirement in the kitchen. I wanted to show you a couple of different ones. The one on the left is a regular whisk. It is chef mate. I like it because it is sturdy and dishwasher safe! The middle one is from Pampered Chef. It is so handy, perfect for scrambling eggs and whisking drinks! The right one is a silicone coated whisk. It is the only whisk I can use on my nonstick pans. I have enjoyed it because of that but it is kind of delicate. The wire in it is not super sturdy so it can't handle a large load. But if you have nonstick pans it is essential.
Mandolin
This tool is so nifty! Perfectly sliced everything. It can handle something soft like a tomato and something hard like a sweet potato. This one is from Pampered Chef and has three sizes of to slice. the biggest is the perfect size for a tomato on a sandwhich or pizza. The smallest size is so thin! You can make those fancy cucumber sandwiches! Not a necessary tool but it cuts slicing time by more than half and this one is dishwasher safe!
Mini Micro-plane Grater
This is such a great tool from Pampered Chef. It is insainly sharp so don't even look at too closely or it will cut you! It comes with a nifty safety piece to put your food in to keep your fingers far from its blade. It is perfect for zesting citrus fruit and finely grating hard cheese.
My only complaint about this and the simple slicer (Mandolin) is the storage. The are fairly compact but they still don't store very well. I feel like the microplain would be much better if the safety piece would lock onto it and the cover would lock on behind it. Something like this picture. I feel like the saftey piece on the simple slicer should onto it as well. it slide off so easily and where ever I store them they slide everywhere and get messy.
Tongs
This is probably my second most used tool in the kitchen (next to my knives). This one is Calphalon and I have enjoyed it because it is sturdy, easy to use, washes well and is pretty heat resistant.
12/22/2015 11:00:35 pm

You have chosen best of them. These can handle all of your kitchen work.

Reply
6/12/2016 03:26:36 am

Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. Each & every tips of your post are awesome.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today