I say Texas Chili because my people are from Texas and they kind of taught  me to make chili. I have heard rumors of my dad's famous chili that he made when he owned a drive through in west Texas. He said he forgot how to make it. So I was inspired by what dad remembered that he put in his chili and I looked up a ton of recipes and this is what I came up with.

This is a recipe for 15-20 people because its kind of pointless to make it in small quantities.

Texas Chili
1 package of ground Turkey, the family pack. I think it's 3lbs.
1 onion diced
3 cloves of garlic; minced
2 T Cajun seasoning
2 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes
1 6oz can of tomato paste
2-3 T dark chili powder
2-3 T garlic powder
1 t red pepper flakes
2-3 T Cajun seasoning
Salt to taste

Add meat, onion, garlic and Cajun seasoning to a large pot. Brown meat. If there is much fat, you can drain it.

Add remaining ingredients. Allow to simmer for 3-4 hours stirring occasionally. I like to start mine in the morning and let it cool all day.

Pasta sauce and chili are very similar: ground meat, tomato sauce and spices. The difference in pasta sauce you add sugar to balance out the acidity. With chili, you have to cook it down until the acid levels out.




Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today