I HATE when u spend so much time on making this beautiful delicious cake and it won't come out of the pan!! Through lots of trial and error and taking the advice from people much smarter than I, I've figured out a system that works for me.

First: parchment paper. Place your pan on top of the paper and use a sharp knife to cut the paper around the pan. Obviously, if you don't have granite countertops put a cutting board under this.

Then brush coconut oil on the bottom and sides of the pan. I oil the bottom so the paper will stick to it and not move when your pouring the batter. You can also use flour and butter for the sides of the pans. I think coconut oil does a better job at keeping things from sticking.

I saw a trick a while ago about making your cake flat. Cut a towel the height of your pans. Cut them about an inch longer than the diameter of the pan so the will overlap. I used one of the clips that comes with an ace bandage and that worked well. I've also used safety pins. One of these days I will sew Velcro on them and they will be much easier!

Anyway, soak the towels in ice water and wrap them around the pans immediately before placing them in the oven. The cakes turn out perfectly level.

So, when you pull them out of the pans you should have a perfectly level cake that didn't stick to the pan!

Happy Birthday papa! Hope you had a good one!!




Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today