Brussels Sprouts were one of those things that I didn't have until I was able to have a kitchen of my own. So when I bought them I was kind of leery, assuming that they were this awful vegetable moms mad their kids eat. I roasted them in a steamer bag and was so impressed! They have a leafy, juicy texture and a bright, green flavor and soak up anything you put on them.
Oh! And fun facts about Brussels sprouts! I always thought they were Brussels sprouts but they are (capital "B") Brussels because they originate from Brussels. Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage and lettuce are in the same family which makes sense because they have a similar shape and flavor. This was one of the more interesting things I learned in my biology class in collage. Probably because it had to do with food. Go figure...


Lemon Garlic Brussels sprouts
For 2

1 lb Brussels Sprouts
2 T olive oil
1/2 lemon
3 cloves garlic minced
1/2 t salt
1/2 t pepper

Preheat oven to 375. Place a large peice of foil on a sheet pan. Drizzle olive oil on foil. Put Brussels Sprouts on foil. Drizzle freshly squeezed lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper on top. Fold foil over and seal to form a pouch. Bake in the oven for 30 min or so. These are pretty forgiving so I usually do this first so they cook while I fix the rest of dinner.

A foil pouch:
Fold foil halves over itself and seal in the middle.
Then seal on the ends. Easy! This is my favorite way to roast most veggies and fish. Fish is so delicate so this is a good way to cook it with out flipping it. It is also well seasoned because it is infused with anything you put in the bag!



Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today