Enchiladas is one of those foods that I crave! When I was pregnant one of the only CRAVINGS!!! I had was cheese enchiladas from Carettas. Chris and I were in class at UNO at the time so Metarie was completely out of the way from our drive from Gentilly to the Quarter. My sweet husband brought me anyway so I could have my cheese enchiladas. They were delicious!

Enchilada sauce

27oz can somato sauce

1 T each:

  Garlic powder

  Cumin

  Chili powder

1 t salt, more to taste

2 T sofrito

Combine all ingredients in a medium pot. Simmer for 30 minutes. The more you cook it, the better. I make the sauce first and let it cook until I am done with everything else.

Chicken

2 T olive oil

1 boneless skinless chicken breast per 2 people

Cajun seasoning

Heat oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Trim and season chicken. Cook in skillet until browned on both sides. Under cook it slightly because you will rebake it. shread the chicken with two forks or in an electric mixer. Add 1/2c enchilada sauce to chicken.

Beef

1/2 lb ground turkey

1/2 onion chopped

2-3 cloves minced garlic

2 t Cajun seasonings.

Brown meat with all ingredients. Add 1/2 c enchilada sauce.

Enchiladas

Corn tortillas

Chicken, need and/ or cheese

Enchilada sauce

Vegetable oil

Grated Cheese

I usuly make 2-3 enchiladas per person. You can roll them or layer the ingredients in a casserole. I will make a 9x9 pan for up to 4 people and a 9x13 pan for up to 8.

Layered:

Preheat oven to 350. Cover the bottom of the pan with a little enchilada sauce. Cover the pan with tortillas. Then meat, sauce, tortillas, meat, tortillas, meat, sauce. Be sure to top with meat and sauce. Cover all the food with sauce so it does not crisp. Top with cheese. Bake until cheese is melty, about 10-15 minutes.

Rolled:

Peheat the oven to 350. Cover the bottom of the pan with sauce.

Traditionally you lightly fry the tortilla, fill it, roll it and put it in the pan. I try to eliminate as much oil as I can so instead I just warm them. Turn a burner on your gas stove on low. Put a tortilla on the grate, let it warm for a couple seconds, flip and let it warm through. Take it off, fill it with meat or cheese, roll it and place it in the pan. Continue until the pan is full. Keep the enchiladas close together. Generously cover with sauce and top with cheese. Bake until cheese is bubbly, about 10-15 minutes.




Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today