My husband and i had a much needed date day today. We started out in Uptown at Refuel. I had the Huevos Rancheros which were perfect! Two corn tortillas topped with black beans, cheese, two perfectly cooked fried eggs, peco de gello and ranchero sauce. They serve it with whole grain, rye or sourdough toast and a side of your choice. I got the potatoes. Chris had the Baja omelet, a three egg Moslem with avocado, bacon, and cheese topped with Spicey Ranchero Sauce. Yum! Chris said that was the most he'd ever heard me talk during a meal. I think that means we haven't seen each other enough. But we really enjoyed Refuel and will defiantly be back. The Southern Pecan Coffee was great but I would love to try a latte!
Chris had their house made Raspberry Lemonade. It was fantastic and look how they twisted the straw!
On our way to Refuel, we passed the Hollygrove market. We wanted to visit since we've never been and we didn't have to deal with a toddler today! Look how beautiful it all was! There is nothing better than garden fresh veggies!
We made our way out to Metaire. I am completely obsessed with Vietnamese coffee and went on a mission to find some. I bought condensed milk the other day so I needed the coffee and filter. We went to International Market that was off Vets a little on Richland. We were unsucsseful in finding coffee but I found about 1,000 other things that I will be back for. Then we went to Oriental Market on Vets and Transcontinental. I found the filter for $5 but no coffee. I asked the guy behind the counter if the had Vietnamese coffee and he said no, that they were Korean and didn't know much about it. So if you need anything specifically Korean I bet they would have it. So we want to whole foods on Vets and I was very disappointed in their coffee selection! Where is a good place to get good, strong coffee?
On our way to Whole Foods we stopped at Sno-la. They have snowballs stuffed, not with ice cream, but with cheesecake! I had the Beam Me Up Scottie. It was a chocolate cram snowball stuffed with peanut butter cheesecake. It was "out of this world" just like the sign said! Chris had a Red Velvet Cake snowball stuffed with cheesecake. Good but not much is better than peanut butter. Next time you're out that way, visit Sno-la!



Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today