I wanted something different this morning. After perusing pintrest for a while I found a recipe for Ham and Cheese Enchiladas. I was inspired to make these similar breakfast enchiladas. This is the method that I learned from my mom, except instead of frying the tortillas I just warmed them through. Although, I was tempted to fry them in the pan of bacon fat that was sitting on the stove top! I liked how they turned out, although I will make more sauce next time.


Breakfast Enchiladas
For 2-3

6-7 corn tortillas
6 eggs
2 T milk
1 T Cajun Seasoning
1 c grated cheese
6 slices of bacon cooked and crumbled

Sauce (this is twice what I made because I thought it needed more sauce)
4 eggs
2 1/4 c milk
1 T flour
1 t each: onion powder, chili powder, cumin

In a bowl whisk ingredients in sauce together. Set aside.
Preheat oven to 375.
Whisk 6 eggs, milk and Cajun Seasoning together in a bowl. Cook scrambled eggs in a skillet on medium heat.
In a bowl add eggs, cheese and bacon and mix well.
Add a enough of the sauce to cover the bottom and sides of a 9x9 a pan. Individually warm tortillas on a gas burner for a few seconds. Generously fill tortilla with egg mixture. Roll up enchilada and put into pan. Repeat until all the egg mixture has been used up. Top with remaining sauce, being sure to cover the tortillas completely. Bake in the oven until warmed through, about 15-30 minutes. Serve while hot!



Leave a Reply.


Mama K's Kitchen Today